Domains @ Rs.99

Home >Event & Awards

EIFF Juries Announced

Posted By : Animation Galaxy    At 19-06-2013 17:39:16

Tags : EIFF    

Ahead of this evenings Opening Night Gala of ‘Breathe In’ at Festival Theatre, Edinburgh International Film Festival (EIFF) is pleased to confirm that acclaimed Iranian director Samira Makhmalbaf will chair the Michael Powell Best British Feature Film Competition Jury, which also includes actor and director Kevin McKidd and film critic and historian Derek Malcolm.

Samira Makhmalbaf became the youngest director in official selection at the Cannes Film Festival 1988 with her first film ‘The Apple’, for which she won the London Film Festival’s Sutherland Trophy. Her second film, ‘The Blackboard’ (2000) and third, ‘At Five in the Afternoon’ (2003), both received the Prix du Jury at Cannes; while the anthology 11'09''01 - September 11 (2002) for which she directed a segment, premiered at Venice. A major talent in Iranian New Wave cinema, she has previously served on festival juries at Locarno, Moscow and elsewhere.

Scottish actor Kevin McKidd starred in last year's EIFF closing night gala, Disney•Pixar’s animated adventure ‘Brave’. He has played iconic roles in such films as ‘Trainspotting’ and ‘16 Years of Alcohol’ and won an award for his role in the TV series ‘Grey’s Anatomy’, for which he also directed.

Derek Malcolm is chief film critic at the Evening Standard, having spent many years previously as a film critic at The Guardian. The author of several books and a former director of the London Film Festival, he has served on juries at numerous international film festivals.

The Michael Powell Award was inaugurated at EIFF in 1990 to honour imagination and creativity in British filmmaking. The award carries a cash prize. The jury will also select a winner for the Award for Best Performance in a British Feature Film.

Serving on the Short Film Competition Jury will be International Film Festival Rotterdam programmer Inge de Leeuw, Die Presse (Vienna) film critic Christoph Huber and Ricardo Matos Cabo, an independent film programmer.

As previously announced, renowned South Korean director Bong Joon-Ho (‘Snowpiercer’ released later this year) will chair the International Feature Film Competition Jury, which also includes actress Natalie Dormer (‘Game of Thrones’) and film critic Siobhan Synnot. They will choose the winner of the Award for Best Film in the International Competition from a selection of films that highlight filmmaking from outside the UK that is imaginative, innovative and deserving of wider recognition. 

The Student Critics Jury, now in its second year, brings to Edinburgh a jury of seven aspiring film critics selected from applications received from Scotland’s colleges and universities. Under the guidance of Sight & Sound editor Nick James they will write short essays about the films and Festival as well as determine the winner of the Student Critics Jury Award.

You May Also Like

comments powered by Disqus  
Games Events-Awards Educations
Host Unlimited Websites. Starting @ Rs.59

Domains @ Rs.99